Image: Catherine Livingstone AO, President, Australian Museum Trust

Catherine Livingstone AO, President, Australian Museum Trust

Catherine Livingstone

Carl Bento
© Australian Museum


Catherine Livingstone was appointed President of Trustees when she joined the Australian Museum Trust in January 2012. She was appointed Chairman of the Commonwealth Bank of Australia in January 2017, having been a director since 2016. She is also a Director of Worley Parsons Ltd (since 2007), Saluda Medical Pty Ltd and The George Institute for Global Health; as well as on the Australian Ballet’s Board of Directors, a member of the Commonwealth Science Council and Chancellor at The University of Technology Sydney since 2016.

Catherine’s former appointments include: President of the Business Council of Australia (2014-16), Chair of Telstra Corporation (2009-16), Chair of both CSIRO (2001-06) and the Australian Business Foundation (2002-05); and Director of Macquarie Group Ltd (2003-13), Rural Press Ltd (2000-03) and Goodman Fielder Ltd (2000-03). She was CEO and Managing Director of Cochlear Ltd (1994-2000) and a member of the NSW Innovation & Productivity Council. Catherine has received a number of awards and was the recipient of NSW Distinguished Fellows Award AICD (2011) and the Alumni Award for Distinguished Service (Professional Category) from Macquarie University (2006). She was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2008 for services to the development of science, technology and innovation policies, business and management.

Last Updated: