Fashion Less Waste 2011 Award Winners

Creativity and colour on the catwalk

Fashion Less Waste 2011 Winners

Fashion Less Waste 2011 Winners
Photographer: Stuart Humphreys © Australian Museum

After a stunning catwalk parade of creative and colourful outfits made from materials not originally intended for clothing, the winners of the Australian Museum’s annual Fashion Less Waste competition are named.

Judges Akira Isogawa (Akira), Sinead Kelly (Dinosaur Designs), Robert J Carroll (Strand Hatters) and Matt Paroz (Peppermint) chose from 20 finalists

Open category
Winner: Stephanie Powell, Dee Why, Sydney

Joint Runners up
• Katie Coogan-Mason + Maiki-Jane Blakeney, Bombaderry NSW
• Cody Winward, Jasper’s Brush NSW

Secondary School category
Winner: Tess Tavener-Hanks, Cheltenham Girls High School

Joint runners up
• Anna Henry, Nowra High School
• Mia McNeill + Christine Trinh, Kincoppal Rose Bay, Sydney

Strand Hatters award for best accessory hat:

Open: Cody Winward, Jasper’s Brush
Secondary School: Tess Tavener-Hanks, Cheltenham Girls HS

The awarded entries will go on public display at

• The Strand Arcade, Sydney June 2011
• Australian Museum, July 2011
• Reverse Garbage, Taylor Square Sydney, August 2011

Gráinne Murphy , Acting Marketing Manager
Last Updated: