2014 Winners (Eureka Prizes)

Winners of the 25th Australian Museum Eureka Prizes were announced Wednesday 10 September.

2014 Eureka Prizes Award Dinner #1

2014 Eureka Prizes Award Dinner #1
Photographer: Daniel O'Doherty © Australian Museum

Follow us on FacebookTwitter and Instagram.

Award Dinner Photo Album

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence in 15 prizes for: research and innovation; leadership; science communication and journalism;and school science.

Australian Government Eureka Prize for Science Journalism
Winner: Sonya Pemberton, Genepool Productions. 

Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Australian Science Research
Winner: Professor Lesley Hughes, Macquarie University

University of Technology, Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers
Winner: Professor Maree Teesson, Centre of Research Excellence in Mental Health and Substance Use, University of New South Wales 

Defence Science and Technology Organisation Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia 
Winner: Tim Lyons, One Atmosphere. 

University of Sydney Sleek Geeks Science Eureka Prize – Primary
Winner: Harry Driessen, Croydon Public School, NSW

CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science 
Winner: Professor Terence Speed, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research 

New Scientist Eureka Prize for Science Photography
Winner: Dr Mark Talbot, CSIRO Plant Industry.

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Eureka Prize for Environmental Research 
Winner: Professor Graham Edgar and Dr Rick Stuart-Smith, University of Tasmania.  

3M Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science
Winner: Dr Adriana Downie, Pacific Pyrolysis Pty Ltd

University of Sydney Sleek Geeks Science Eureka Prize – Secondary
Winner: Jackson Huang, Queensland Academy for Science, Mathematics and Technology, Qld

Department of Agriculture Landcare Eureka Prize for Sustainable Agriculture
Winner: Dr John Kirkegaard and Dr James Hunt, CSIRO and Stuart Kearns, Grains Research and Development Corporation 

Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research
Winner: Hendra Virus Research Team, CSIRO

ANSTO Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology
Winner: DIY Droplet Lens, Garvan Institute of Medical Research and Australian National University

Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Early Career Researcher
Winner: Associate Professor Simon Ho, University of Sydney

University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research
Winner: SEARCH Project, University of Melbourne 

University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Scientific Research 
Winner: B-cell Team, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research

Contact Eureka Prizes

Please contact us on (02) 9320 6483 or via email.

Eureka Prizes homepage

Kea Lambert , Project Officer, Eureka Prizes
Last Updated: