2013 Winners (Eureka Prizes)

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes were announced on 4 September in the presence of 700 science, government, cultural and media leaders.

2013 Eureka Prizes Award Dinner

2013 Eureka Prizes Award Dinner
Photographer: Daniel O’Doherty © Australian Museum

The 2013 Australian Museum Eureka Prizes reward excellence in 17 fields: research and innovation; leadership and commercialisation; science communication and journalism;and school science. 

CSIRO Eureka Prize for Leadership in Science
Winner: Professor Frank Caruso, University of Melbourne

Macquarie University Eureka Prize for Outstanding Young Researcher
Winner: Dr Kerrie Wilson, University of Queensland

University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Scientific Research
Winner: Dr Lars Kjer-Nielsen and Professor James McCluskey, University of Melbourne, and Professor Jamie Rossjohn, Monash University

University of New South Wales Eureka Prize for Excellence in Interdisciplinary Scientific Research
WInner: Quantum Bio-probes, University of Melbourne

University of Sydney Sleek Geeks Science Eureka Prize – Primary
Winner: What is Friction?, Nathan Gori, Reuben Shepherd, Billy McLeod, Jack Dougall and Sacha Balme, Beauty Point Public School, NSW

Caring for our Country Landcare Eureka Prize for Sustainable Agriculture
Winner: The Future Farm Industries CRC Enrich Project Team, CSIRO, University of Western Australia and South Australian Research and Development Institute

ANSTO Eureka Prize for Innovative Use of Technology
Winner: Zebedee Team, CSIRO

Australian Government Eureka Prize for Science Journalism
Winner: Ian Townsend, ABC

Australian Government Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Australian Science Research
Winner: Professor Rob Brooks, University of New South Wales

NSW Health Jamie Callachor Eureka Prize for Medical Research Translation
Winner: Professor Steve Wilton and Professor Sue Fletcher, Murdoch University

University of Technology, Sydney Eureka Prize for Outstanding Mentor of Young Researchers
Winnner: Professor Rick Shine AM FAA, University of Sydney

Australian Museum University of Sydney Sleek Geeks Science Eureka Prize – Secondary
Winner: The Spectacular Spider, Brandon Gifford, Casino High School, NSW

Rio Tinto Eureka Prize for Commercialisation of Innovation
Winner: Scanalyse/Outotec, Scanalyse Pty Ltd/Outotec and Curtin University

NSW Office of Environment and Heritage Eureka Prize for Environmental Research
Winner: Professor Chris Johnson, University of Tasmania; Dr Michael Letnic, University of New South Wales; Dr Euan Ritchie, Deakin University; Dr Arian Wallach, James Cook University; and Adam O'Neill, Evelyn Downs Station

New Scientist Eureka Prize for Science Photography
Winner: Richard Wylie, Euakafa Island Research Centre

Defence Science and Technology Organisation Eureka Prize for Outstanding Science in Safeguarding Australia
Winner: DMTC Armour Applications Program, Defence Materials Technology Centre

2013 Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre Eureka Prize for Infectious Diseases Research
Winners: Professor Scott O'Neill, Monash University; Professor Ary Hoffmann, University of Melbourne; Professor Scott Ritchie, James Cook University; Dr Elizabeth McGraw, Monash University; Dr Luciano Moreira, Oswaldo Cruz Foundation; and Professor Brian Kay, Queensland Institute of Medical Research

2013 3M Eureka Prize for Emerging Leader in Science
Associate Professor David Wilson, Kirby Institute, University of New South Wales

Contact us

Please call us on (02) 9320 6483 or send us an email.

Kea Lambert , Project Officer, Eureka Prizes
Last Updated: