What's on: Aztecs Night Talk Series : Conquest, Contrast and Culture - the Aztecs and Mesoamerica

From Aztec funerary customs to ritual violence and bloodletting in Mesoamerica, join us for these fascinating talks from the experts in their fields.

Aztecs Night Talk Series : Conquest, Contrast and Culture - the Aztecs and Mesoamerica #2

 © Lightworks Media / Alamy

Get discounts on events by becoming a Member (enjoy other benefits too!)

Event Type:
Special event
Date:
2 October 2014 to 29 January 2015
Time:
6:30PM - 7:45PM (See below for dates)
Location:
Australian Museum, Entry via William St
Admission:
$290 ($180 Members)

Come for one or two or... book in for the whole series for a heavily discounted price!

1. Aztecs: all about the exhibition
Fran Dorey, Aztecs exhibition project manager
Date: Thursday 2 October

2. Aztec funerary customs
Dr Stan Serafin, Central Queensland University
Date: Thursday 9 October

3. Pointed stones and broken bones
Dr Stan Serafin, Central Queensland University
Date: Thursday 16 October

4. The enigma of La Malinche: the woman in the conquest of the Aztecs
Anna Lanyon, author and historian
Date: Thursday 6 November

5. Ritual violence in Mesoamerica
Dr Chris Carter, archaeologist, ANU
Date: Thursday 13 November, 2014

6. Aztecs: where are they now?
Professor Barry Carr, historian
Date: Thursday 20 November

7. The Aztec mind
Emeritus Professor Peter Mathews, LaTrobe University
Date: Thursday 4 December

8. Messages from the sky
Professor Fred Watson, Astronomer, Anglo Australian Telescope
Date: Thursday 15 January 2015

9. Native women's power before and after the fall of the Aztec Empire 
Dr Blanca Tovias, University of Sydney
Date: Thursday 22 January 2015

10. Fall of the Aztecs
Chris Carter, archaeologist, ANU
Date: Thursday 29 January 2015

How to book

Book online below or contact our Members team on (02) 9320 6225 or via email.

Last Updated: