Eureka Prizes Judges

Judging the 2015 Eureka Prizes

The Australian Museum Eureka Prizes and sponsors are deeply grateful to these individuals who freely gave their time and expertise to assist in prize judging.

  • Ian Allen, Executive Producer, Content, ABC Digital Network
  • Associate Professor Kathy Andrews, Head, Tropical Parasitology Lab, Eskitis Institute for Drug Discovery, Griffith University
  • Professor Mike Archer AM, FAA, DistFRSN, FRZSNSW, FACE, FWAAS, Palaeosciences – School of Biological, Earth & Environmental Sciences, UNSW
  • Professor Snow Barlow FTSE, FAIAST, Faculty of Veterinary and Agricultural Sciences, University of Melbourne
  • Dr Amanda Barnard, OCE Science Leader, Virtual Nanoscience Laboratory, CSIRO
  • Associate Professor Michael Beard, NHMRC Senior Research Fellow, School of Biological Sciences, The University of Adelaide
  • Vanessa Beggs, General Manager Organisational Development and Innovation Initiatives, Commonwealth Bank
  • Professor Sharon Bell, Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Charles Darwin University
  • Cherrie Bottger, Head of Children's Programming, Network Ten Pty Ltd
  • Suzanne Buljan, Director, Australian Centre for Photography
  • Michael Bullen, Deputy Director-General, Department of Primary Industries Agriculture
  • Dr Charles Ian Chessell, Chair, Goyder Institute for Water Research; Non-Executive Director, Qinetiq Pty Ltd; Director, Astronomy Australia Pty Ltd; and Director, Chessell Research Pty Ltd.
  • Professor Emeritus Jann Conroy, Hawkesbury Institute for the Environment, University of Western Sydney
  • Dr Mary Corbett, Chair, Cotton Research and Development Corporation
  • Geoff Crane, Manager, National Science Week, Inspiring Australia, Questacon – The National Science and Technology Centre
  • Anna Davis, Head of Science, Casimir Catholic College
  • Professor David A. Day, Deputy Vice-Chancellor and Vice President (Research), Flinders University
  • Emeritus Professor Ian W. Dawes, FAA FRSN, School of Biotechnology and Biomolecular Sciences, UNSW
  • Professor Dennis Del Favero, ARC Australian Professorial Fellow, Director, iCinema Centre, UNSW
  • Professor Ben Eggleton, Director, CUDOS ARC Centre of Excellence, University of Sydney
  • Professor Lyndon Edwards, Head, Institute of Metals Engineering, ANSTO
  • Dr Shari Forbes, Professor and ARC Future Fellow, Centre for Forensic Science, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Professor Bryan Gaensler, Director, Dunlap Institute for Astronomy and Astrophysics, University of Toronto
  • Alexandra Gartmann, CEO, Foundation for Rural & Regional Renewal
  • Dr Peter G. Gray, Technical Director, 3M Australia
  • Professor Kliti Grice, Founding Director, WA-Organic and Isotope Geochemistry Centre, Curtin University
  • Professor Gustaaf Hallegraeff, Institute for Marine and Antarctic Studies, University of Tasmania
  • Dr Warren Harch, DSTO Deputy Chief Defence Scientist
  • Leigh Henningham, Picture Editor, The Age
  • Associate Professor Matthew Hole, Research School of Physics and Engineering, Australian National University
  • Brenton Honeyman, Manager, Strategic Engagement and Policy, Department of Industry and Science, Questacon – The National Science and Technology Centre
  • Professor David N Jamieson, Professor of Physics, School of Physics, The University of Melbourne
  • Dr Rebecca Johnson, Director, Australian Museum Research Institute
  • Professor Maria Kavallaris, Program Head, Children's Cancer Institute and Director, Australian Centre for NanoMedicine, UNSW
  • Professor Max Lu, Provost and Senior Vice-President, The University of Queensland
  • Professor Brendan Mackey, Director, Griffith Climate Change Response Programme, Griffith University
  • Dr Richard Major, Principal Research Scientist, Australian Museum
  • Lynne Malcolm, Executive Producer, Science Unit and Presenter, ABC Radio National
  • Professor John Mattick AO FAA FAHMS HonFRCPA, Executive Director, Garvan Institute of Medical Research
  • Associate Professor Clare McArthur, School of Biological Sciences, University of Sydney
  • Professor Caroline McMillen, Vice Chancellor and President, The University of Newcastle
  • Jennifer Metcalfe, Director, Econnect Communication; Sessional Lecturer, Science Communication, University of Queensland and the University of Rhine-Waal
  • Professor Angela Moles, Evolution & Ecology Research Centre, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UNSW
  • Professor William Moran, School of Electrical & Computer Engineering, RMIT University
  • Dr Rob Morrison OAM, Director, Right Angle Publications
  • Professor Peter Nelson, Pro-Vice Chancellor (Performance and Innovation), Macquarie University
  • Dr Jim Peacock AC, CSIRO Fellow; Distinguished Professor, University of Technology, Sydney
  • Professor Andrew Peele, Director, Australian Synchrotron
  • Professor Anton Peleg, Professor and Director of Department of Infectious Diseases, The Alfred Hospital and Monash University
  • Professor Judy Raper, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research and Innovation), University of Wollongong
  • Craig Roy, Deputy Chief Executive, CSIRO
  • Professor Mark Schembri, ARC Future Fellow, Deputy Director, Australian Infectious Diseases Research Centre, School of Chemistry and Molecular Biosciences, The University of Queensland
  • Dr Paul Scully-Power AM, DSM, NSM, GOSE, FRAeS, FAICD, FACS, FISSA, Executive Chairman, Prime Solutions Pacific
  • Professor Susan Serjeantson
  • Professor Margaret Sheil, Provost, Professor of Chemistry, University of Melbourne
  • Professor Rick Shine AM FAA, Laureate Fellow, The University of Sydney
  • David Stock, Picture Researcher, New Scientist
  • Professor Maree Teesson, Director, NHMRC Centre of Research Excellence in Mental Health and Substance Use, NHMRC Principal Research Fellow, National Drug and Alcohol Research Centre, Faculty of Medicine, UNSW
  • Dr Robin Torrence, Senior Principal Research Scientist, Australian Museum
  • Professor Mark von Itzstein, Director, Institute for Glycomics, Griffith University
  • Robyn Williams AM, Presenter, The Science Show, ABC Radio National
  • Dr Kate Wilson, Executive Director, Science Division, NSW Office of Environment and Heritage
  • Dr Ionat Zurr, SymbioticA's Researcher & Academic Coordinator, SymbioticA - The Centre of Excellence in Biological Arts, School of Anatomy, Physiology and Human Biology, University of Western Australia


Contact us

Please call us on (02) 9320 6483 or send us an email.

Kea Lambert , Project Officer, Eureka Prizes
Last Updated: